top of page

God and You

This morning, as I sat down to pray, I felt a strong relational desire inside to just sit quietly and hear my beautiful, glorious, and awesome Savior, Jesus, speak to me. Much like the apostles, who sat near the sea and listened to their friend and leader speak profoundly rich truths to their souls.

I opened my Bible to Matthew 6:25-34, and as I read, I see, I feel, I experience the willful desire of my Father and my Lord to care for me.

In this text, Jesus uses some form of the word you” 15 times! I know, I know…it’s not about “you.” And Jesus isn’t suggesting that it is. He is telling us that the Father is glorified in providing for “you.” Therefore, do not be anxious about anything. He provides for the birds of the air, and for all creatures and all living things, and he clothes the grass of the fields. How much more then will he provide for you, his beloved, redeemed, and cherished people?

I needed to hear Jesus this morning say to me…“you.” When he did, I did not look inward, I looked upward. I saw the glory of my Father in his care for my body and my soul. And that was Jesus’ desire, for us to look up as God comes down.

We are a means to his glory. Our satisfaction in being provided for brings us joy and fulfills our desires, and satisfies our earthly and physical needs, as well as our spiritual and eternal needs. For Jesus to speak to your heart and say, “you,” is a means for us to look up to God and say, “You.”


RECENT POST
bottom of page